Today…

… we say goodbye to a friend.

He was meant to turn 31 on the night that the fella below got himself married. He was meant to be out with us; laughing and carrying on at that same loud shirt event – wishing the fella below well. He was meant to be able to continue the writing of his clever yarns. He was meant to be able to play with his brushes and paints. He was meant to do well; be loved, love, laugh, cry, breath…

… live.

Instead; the illness that ambushed him some months ago, finally got it’s way.  He left us – somewhat painlessly – three days before his mate’s wedding and his 31st birthday.

I’ll miss your ability to entertain Travis. I’ll miss our endless runaway conversations that would often leave us in tears, gasping for breath as we tried to recall what in hell started the silly bloody yarn in the first place. I’ll miss your laugh and, Ill miss the unique way in which you saw those who lived their lives around you.

You’re the only man – only person in fact – that I’ve ever known who has decorated a toilet for a house party. So well in fact – that it spent more time being occupied – than it did being empty. I’ve never arrived for a shindig before – only to be greeted with the words:

“You’ve got to see the toilet!”

I remember that and many times like it, so well. You occupied space in my ‘brainbox’ mate and you did this for so many of us. So, I guess what I’m trying to say is: you’ll continue to do this – for all of us – for a very, very long time to come…

… and I’m glad.

Belongum – Out!

About Belongum

People bring 'things' to me. Not necessarily PHYSICAL things as such - mostly just the loose bits and pieces floating around in their 'brain-box'. Sometimes, they also bring themselves - and THAT isn't anywhere near as simple as it sounds. I come here to pass some of this 'brain-box business' on to the ether world, and to empty my head. Besides folks - I love a good yarn - so come and join me!
This entry was posted in Laugh, Live, Loss, Love. Bookmark the permalink.