Britain Sorry…

… about Bloody Sunday.

About bloody time.

Successive Governments ARE responsible for the decisions they make and for the ways in which people conduct themselves on a Country’s behalf. Nor do I necessarily believe there should be any statute of limitations on how such actions are investigated when looking back on such things.

I don’t necessarily believe that broad-based financial compensation works either. It has some merits for some circumstances – but it’s fraught with a whole pile of other complications that – when terms for such compensation are finalised – often tend to ‘judge’ victims simply because that’s the nature of compensation law.

What I do believe, is that a Government should OWN it’s Country’s F$%^-ups! They should then be tabled and recorded as a adjunct in a Country’s history.

I’m blown away by Britain’s apology. Perhaps a Country can grow up after all…

I’m interested to hear what you might think: should a Country’s Government be held accountable for the actions of those acting on it’s behalf?

Belongum – Out!

About Belongum

People bring 'things' to me. Not necessarily PHYSICAL things as such - mostly just the loose bits and pieces floating around in their 'brain-box'. Sometimes, they also bring themselves - and THAT isn't anywhere near as simple as it sounds. I come here to pass some of this 'brain-box business' on to the ether world, and to empty my head. Besides folks - I love a good yarn - so come and join me!
This entry was posted in Bloody Sunday. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Britain Sorry…

  1. Cellobella says:

    Done on its behalf when it’s its own armed service? Er… YES.

    Cellobella – In!

    Like

    • belongum says:

      Sorry CB – I’ve been bouncing about the countryside too – so I was definitely OUT!

      That business wasn’t all that long ago either…

      Sheesh!

      Like

Leave a Reply

