I’ve discovered…

… this flower

in my mother-in-law’s garden.

I’ve heard that it’s called an ox-tongue lily – or a witches broom – but I’ve not been able to find any reference to it other than these common names. Any ideas you flowering plant lovers?

They apparently start as a dormant bulb of some sort, the flower sprouts and then they have a thick almost succulent type of long ‘leaf’ that slowly appears after the flower has opened – much like many other types of lily’s. I’m amazed at the colour and shape of these flowers – not to mention their stems. It’s spinny to think on how these flowers spend most of their time ‘hiding’ beneath the surface of the earth. So I’m wondering what their origin is and how they might have come to end up in Oz. I’m doubtful of them being native flowering plants – but I’m no expert – so I’d be interested to find out more.

Meanwhile – here’s some more shots:

Some wicked colours there.

Shame about the photographer but…

Belongum – Out!

About Belongum

People bring 'things' to me. Not necessarily PHYSICAL things as such - mostly just the loose bits and pieces floating around in their 'brain-box'. Sometimes, they also bring themselves - and THAT isn't anywhere near as simple as it sounds. I come here to pass some of this 'brain-box business' on to the ether world, and to empty my head. Besides folks - I love a good yarn - so come and join me!
This entry was posted in Ballarat, gardener, Gardening, Gardens, green thumb, Ox-tongue lily, Plants, summer, Witches Broom Lily. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I’ve discovered…

  1. Whatever it is, tis gorgeous.

    They are aren’t they… hope you’re on the mend over your way Justine. (Ha – listen to me… I’m just down the coast from you now – in Ballarat haha!) I’ve been on hols mate – so I’ve been slow in my readings. It’s been great!

    Like

  2. Cellobella says:

    I’m not sure whether I like them or not! The colours are lush though. 🙂

    Like

  3. boondle says:

    I believe they are Haemanthus coccineus, Blood Lily, native to South Africa which is why they do so well here. Not an expert, but…

    Cheers Boondle – thanks for dropping by. It’s the best lead I’ve had so far mate 😉
    Much appreciated!

    Like

Leave a Reply

