Today my youngest son…

…has turned one!  I’m 450kms away from him in a town called Geraldton, Western Australia (I’ll be telling you why in another post).  I’ll be home soon F, and whilst I know you can’t read this (and that a first birthday currently means nothing to you right now) it means a world to the XO and I as you’ve only been in our life for 12 months now, but in some odd way it feels so much longer then this.  Your Mum did all the carrying and provided you with everything you needed to get a glimpse of this world – so… how do you like it so far?

One day, I hope you look back and remember to go up to your dear old Mum and give her a cuddle.  That time won’t come for quite a while yet, but you see – your Mum did all the hard work – and she carried you about inside of her, thinking of nothing else but you.  Our oldest had his turn – and I hope he trips over a similar desire himself too – one day it’ll dawn on both of you the sacrifice and selflessness a mother carries about her person at all times.  I hope the ‘penny drops’ for you in much the same way it did for me, and if my mum was here right now – I’d go and give her a huge hug and say thank you – it’s a mother’s (whomever you consider that person to be) love that helps you grow into this world, and without it, you’ll feel hollow and lost inside.

SO this weekend there’s a first birthday party for my youngest boy, and it’ll be a dead simple affair – truth be told, I’m simply not a birthday person – I never have been… they come and they go – and most times I have no idea it’s happened.  Having kids changes all that.  The XO is a mad thing for birthdays, and I know that she would have been sitting there last night wrapping like a mad thing, with nothing but the lad’s birthday on her mind.

Cellobella over at Redsultana has made mention of the first birthday experience for someone who’s NOT a parent of the child, and I thought it fit in rather well, with where some of my thoughts were going on this topic.  It must be odd at times for some people who feel a little out of place at a first birthday party, so – if you happen to be attending said party – don’t feel odd or out of place.  We’re just happy to be here – 12 months down the track – and we’re happy to be here with all of you too.  It mightn’t seem like such a big milestone for our son – him being one and all – but really, it’s a bloody huge milestone for us, so thank you!

Have fun – enjoy – and go out and get yourself a ‘coldie’ (of whatever refreshment tickles your fancy)… I’m going to go and have a quiet cuppa and mull it over for a smally while, as I’ll be home sometime soon. My boy will smile, gurgle something unintelligible – probably through a mouthful of drool – and I’ll be the easiest bloke to spot there from miles around.  I’ll be the one with the biggest smile!

Thanks love… Belongum – Out!

About Belongum

People bring 'things' to me. Not necessarily PHYSICAL things as such - mostly just the loose bits and pieces floating around in their 'brain-box'. Sometimes, they also bring themselves - and THAT isn't anywhere near as simple as it sounds. I come here to pass some of this 'brain-box business' on to the ether world, and to empty my head. Besides folks - I love a good yarn - so come and join me!
This entry was posted in Australia, child, Family, First Birthday, life, Mother, Mum, other half, parenthood, people, son, Turning 1, yarn. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Today my youngest son…

  1. Cellobella says:

    I hope someone buys you and your wife something to celebrate!

    Are you going to do the smash cake thing?

    🙂

    He did the ‘smally’ smash thing, AND he got two goes at it – he had a friends birthday party today – the spoilt bugger lol 😉

    Like

  2. Mandi says:

    You and the XO sound like me and mine – I’m mad for birthday’s (as you may have noticed LOL) while Hubby’s a bit more ho-hum. But he’s very good natured and falls in with my highly planned, over-the-top craziness and makes me laugh at myself at the end of it all.

    I do firmly believe that the first few birthdays are for the parents – it’s for you to celebrate making it through the sleepless nights, teething, cying, etc, etc. Enjoy the wee man’s day for what it is and revel in him. Congrats to you and the XO and HAPPY BIRTHDAY to the wee one.

    Cheers Mandi – Ta very much… he had himself a right fat time (what with all the extra attention and all) today, as mates came around – I enjoy aspects of birthdays, and sometimes there’s parts I don’t enjoy all that much. sometimes having too many people around just fair wears me out lol 😉

    Like

  3. mummabare says:

    Happy birthday to the little fulla.
    And happy birthing day to the XO 🙂

    It’s good of you to remind me of the significance of such an event to the XO… I do forget that at times – especially the day – and I was right there with her for that too – it’s THAT that should be celebrated – and I might have to look at this entirely different from now on… cheers MB 😉

    Like

  4. dyan says:

    hi my dear, give your little one a big kiss and cuddle for me, 1 is such a special age.
    love ya.

    Gudday ‘E’ – or should I say ‘D’… lol!!! Hope you’re well mate – cheers for the beet wishes and don’t worry – he got himself more cuddles than he could poke a stick at lol 😉

    Like

  5. Ching Ya says:

    Congrats to your family! For the cute 1 year old, your lovely wife a.k.a supermom (I acknowledge all moms that way), and yourself. For able to pull 1 year off, and I’m sure many years to come. Happy birthday to the little one & a hug for him too. =)

    Ta muchly Ching Ya – he got himself severely spoiled and a ‘birthday’ that appeared to stretch over two weeks almost – the cheeky lad! Cheers 😉

    Like

  6. Ian says:

    G’day mate 🙂

    Sounds like ya been havin’ a great ol’ time. I was never one for birthdays either (? male thing ?)but, now we’ve got grandkids ya can’t stop me !!

    Sorry for late comment but there’s been a bit of secret men’s business goin’ on my end… hospitals, scapels, family jewels etc 😦 but all good now! Whew!

    All the best to you and yours and, if ya don’t post before Christmas, have a good one, and enjoy the time with the kids and XO

    Cheers,

    Like

Leave a Reply

