What a morning…

… I woke in a hospital bed – sore as buggery on the inside, but brighter then day on the outside. Damn that feeling hope!

Kevin Rudd… a politician he may very well be, but this morning actually caused a little ‘wetness’ to appear in my eyes. Must of been the pain I was feeling. But no, my Mum called me on the dreaded mobile and she had been watching Kevin Rudd, and was now watching Brendan Nelson – and she started to cry. That, was it for me… I had tears flowing freely, and was barely keeping my emotions in check. Do you realise how much your damn abdomen hurts after you’ve had bit’s playing around in there (Damn those gall stones!) – and your trying to keep things in? Ouch!!!

Brendan Nelson – I feel for you mate… it’s such a shame you missed the point entirely. John Howard and his government had their time, and in my opinion, set us back 20 years. That you still based your parties reply around much of the same rhetoric didn’t really surprise me, as much as saddened me. It must have tripped over every ‘black armband’ cliche that ever fell out of John Howard’s mouth. You had yourself an opportunity to put you and your party beliefs above that of your predecessor – and move forward, clean of the bulldust John Howard kicked up for you. You didn’t, and whilst this wasn’t a surprise s such – it was a real shame. I guess your party simply didn’t want to put any of it down – it sure seemed Wilson Tucky wasn’t impressed – but there’s no surprise there.

I felt actual admiration for our Prime Minister for the first time today – but I fear they are setting themselves up for the same fall, given the way they again want to shape progress for Indigenous peoples of this country – making promises wrapped up in resources that we again don’t actually have on the ground, nor the understanding or education necessary to use these things the way mainstream Australia and mainstream politicians will expect them to be used in these communities.

Promises, promises… as my father says – these are the things that Bob Hawk tripped over. Be bloody careful Kevin Rudd, you hold our hope in your hands… and my mother has shed enough tears, lost enough family members, given up most of her cultural values and lived in more fear then you could ever possibly imagine. She did this here – in our country – Australia. THIS is the reason for the word “Sorry” and why it was needed on this country. I felt that you were sincere in this at the very least.

You have within you Kevin Rudd, the power to shake the tree of racism in this country, and knock a bit of the bad fruit out. I wish you well on this journey, and I hope your resolve remains firm. There are a swag of Non-indigenous people who are banking on you as well – without these peoples – we’d never stand a chance in hell. My thanks go out to all peoples who support this change in our country. My family knows that with out a ‘you’ in this picture – there is no ‘us’ – and we’d be hung out to dry, all over again.

I’m going to hope now. I’m going to hope that those Australians who are the nay sayers, can look past this and move on. I hope they can learn from those of you out there – already leading the way.

Thank you…

Belongum – Out!

About Belongum

People bring 'things' to me. Not necessarily PHYSICAL things as such - mostly just the loose bits and pieces floating around in their 'brain-box'. Sometimes, they also bring themselves - and THAT isn't anywhere near as simple as it sounds. I come here to pass some of this 'brain-box business' on to the ether world, and to empty my head. Besides folks - I love a good yarn - so come and join me!
This entry was posted in 1905 Act, 1967 Referendum, Aboriginal, Australia, bad, black, Blackfellas, Broome, bulldust, child, complicated, control, culture, Family, fear, hard, hurt, Indigenous, Islander, mess, messy, parenthood, people, racism, Sorry, stupid, Thank you, Western Australia, Western Australian, white, Whitefellas and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to What a morning…

  1. Ian says:

    Hope ya startin’ ta feel a bit healthier there, ol’ son 🙂

    As for the politics of the hour… I reeeeeeally hope it’s not exactly that, and that there is some fundamental change in the way this entire issue has been approached; for decades!!

    Lord knows there’s a lot of good will about… but let’s not forget that some of these issues started, but certainly weren’t completed, with a modicum of good will.

    Glad ta hear that yer ol’ Mum feels that the world is smiling on her situation at long last… I know there’s a lot of ol’ Mums and Dads that feel the same. It’s for them, and that feeling they have, that I hope against hope that these bloody politicians aren’t up to their usual antics… rhetoric + good intentions -> malaise + bureaucracy -> downright thuggery…

    Bah… I think I hate all politicians (and I don’t hate anyone, for anything, on a personal level… it’s just not me)

    Sorry… that’s just how I feel… big hi and a cuddle to ya Mum and all others like her……. an’ try and follow yer doctors orders :-))

    Best wishes,

    Like

  2. enigma says:

    Oh petal…I hope you feel better, and it wasnt something seriuos…..I was happy with the apology also.

    Like

  3. Hope you feel better soon :))

    Like

  4. Spike says:

    Belongum said: I felt actual admiration for our Prime Minister for the first time today

    Weird feeling ain’t it 🙂

    Look after yerself. I hear those gall stones hurt like buggery.

    Like

  5. I can’t remember the last time I felt good about a Pime Minister. How extraordinary.

    I reckon Kevvie did alright though.

    Like

  6. mez says:

    I hope you feel better soon!
    And I had a bit of the old wet eye going on too. you’re right about the sorry being symbolic – I hope we can all step forward together.

    Like

  7. mummabare says:

    Bugger..those gall stones are giving you curry aint they….how long til they pass/go away or do whatever gall stones do?

    Im feeling optimistic about Kev…I think hes a good sort, he certainly had conviction with his speech, he seemed sincere.

    I guess Im a bit removed from it because the person to who this really would have meant alot has long passed…so I feel more of a mourning then a celebration. Thats life tho I suppose.

    I hope Kev can make a difference, but lets not forget we can too. Challenge those stereotypes, believe in ourselves, and our rights…

    at the end of the day, the people have more power then a politician. Gotta believe that.

    Hope your feeling better bro,

    x

    Like

Leave a Reply

