Feeling the sun trying to punch its way through the windscreen of my car…

…I clamber out and instantly I regret the fact that I choose to shave my head! It’s 40 plus degrees C here, and summer really hasn’t arrived yet – not really. I Grub about back inside the car and pull out my limp peak cap… sort of makes a mockery out of my sad attempt to cover my noggin really – doesn’t it?

The town of Meekatharra – and places much like it – has a way of cooking you, like steak on a barbie. Your juices on the inside do a slow boil, your skin almost sizzles, and all you need now to complete the picture, is for a pair of huge pressed steel tongs to appear out of the clouds – as if God ‘himself’ was turning his ‘meat’ over.

It’s an odd sensation for those of you who mightn’t experience good healthy heat like this. There’s no humidity, it’s dry enough to see a drip dry wash done and complete in ten minutes here, five if the wind is blowing. People move around trapped in a heat haze. You’d swear they ripple. Given a few more months of this weather, you’d be convinced of it.

People melt around things. They don’t seem to step phsically across a space so much as they ooze along it. Road tar melts, and sunken dents where truck tyres rent blackened ant canyons, become another pedestrian trap for the unwary. It just becomes something else for you to stick to, as you feel that squish, through it’s molten surface. It’s the only thing at this time of year that WILL Squish. Doggie-do-do certainly won’t – it’s a safe Crunch sound this time of year… thank gawd! Oh the things that mark summer eh?

If you’ve ever had the pleasure of being caught in melted tar on a road surface, you’d now know how fly’s feel in those super attracitive tar paper ‘fly traps’. At least you’ve got a safety feature ‘built in’ – if you’re up here in this heat and you’re a local – your wearing thongs! And although its no easy decision to make, you can always rest easy in the knowledge that should a road train start making it’s way in your general direction – you can quickly cast off your trapped thong – and hop madly across the road, to the relative safety of the other side. Well… so long as you don’t get caught in your OTHER thong that is.

And just try to grab the steering wheel of your car in a hurry. Even in the shade it can become a most uncomfortable item in your already hot and sweaty hands. That’s assuming you found shade. Unless you have a carport – personal – for the use of, you’ll be trying your hand along with all the other locals who are keenly aware of one simple fact: There are more cars and people, then there are trees. Shade is a treasured commodity in this part of the country, we’d charge for it if we could – but that’d be like selling a man dying of thirst – a glass of cold water. Now THAT just wouldn’t be cricket!

And still, I love it. I can’t stand the cold, it pierces me in ways I never thought possible. I come away from cold country feeling almost violated, it’s a sin the way the cold can creep into you like that. I’d rather bake then freeze any day… I can’t stand the thought of snow covering a country – and ‘coldly’ regard it as an obscene waste of water! Those of you who ski… SUCKERS! You’re part of a marketing ploy that see’s you collectively spending millions of dollars trying to ‘keep up with the Jones’ – excpet – they’re all on holiday!

Not me mate, never see me outlaying THAT sort of rediculous cost for a little fun on some frozen water… pillocks the lot of ya. Give me good clean electricity everyday and me and my airconditioner, will happily sit there chilling. That is, as soon as it STARTS chilling… bloody things been on the blink for the last few months and I forget to fix it. Going to cost me hundreds of bloody dollars to fix the damn thing, that’s IF I can get a sparky up here, or IF I can get a new one.

Sighhhhh…

So – where’s the snow happening these days?

Belongum – Out!

About Belongum

People bring 'things' to me. Not necessarily PHYSICAL things as such - mostly just the loose bits and pieces floating around in their 'brain-box'. Sometimes, they also bring themselves - and THAT isn't anywhere near as simple as it sounds. I come here to pass some of this 'brain-box business' on to the ether world, and to empty my head. Besides folks - I love a good yarn - so come and join me!
This entry was posted in Australia, Australiana, Meekatharra, summer, Uncategorized, Western Australia, Western Australian, work, yarn. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Feeling the sun trying to punch its way through the windscreen of my car…

  1. Foxhow says:

    Hi Belongum
    Have never been to W.A., maybe one day…

    I’m from cold country, south west Victoria, where to quote the Pogues, “the wind blows right through you its no place for the old”

    Whilst living in humid Sydney these days, I occasionaly get homesick for the sharp cold breeze blowing of the southern ocean.

    Like

  2. belongum says:

    Reblogged this on Belongum empties his head… and commented:

    Here’s an old post – WAY back when when I first started in 2005. It’s so easy to forget what you’ve blogged about! Hope you enjoy it…

    Like

Leave a Reply

