ACCELERATE…

… is an initiative of the British Council – here in Australia.

ACCELERATE is but one of the opportunities that the British Council offers Aboriginal and Islander peoples, taking on leadership positions across the wider creative industries. Winning an ACCELERATE bid allows you to take part in a tailored leadership development program aimed at empowering Aboriginal and Islander peoples to take up leadership aspirations within the arts. The ultimate prize for those who get past the final hurdle is that you win the opportunity to build on your dreams – in the UK!

Last year – I had a crack! I made it through the first stage but was unsuccessful in the second. I was up against some amazing contenders so I wasn’t too disappointed in not making it through. I decided to make a video of myself trying to explain why it was that felt the way that I do. I wanted to impress upon people my sincerity and belief in what I thought this country needed, to heal the gulf that exists between our peoples in this country.

I wanted to share my video pitch with you for two reasons: one, I hope it resonates with many of you out there (my overall message – not the bid for the uk :-) ) and two, I want to encourage you to dreams big dream too! I want you to step up and forward in whatever way you possibly can and challenge our Australian status quo! No matter what size your aspirations are for a better world, if you take even the smallest of steps forward to realise them, you’re doing good things – for ALL of us!

To me – that’s an amazing thing to do and I tip my hat to you…

Belongum – Out!

About Belongum

People bring 'things' to me. Not necessarily PHYSICAL things as such - mostly just the loose bits and pieces floating around in their 'brain-box'. Sometimes, they also bring themselves - and THAT isn't anywhere near as simple as it sounds. I come here to pass some of this 'brain-box business' on to the ether world, and to empty my head. Besides folks - I love a good yarn - so come and join me!
Video | This entry was posted in Aboriginal, Art, Australia, Indigenous, Islander, Uncategorized, Western Australia, yarn and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to ACCELERATE…

Leave a Reply

